Gone Girl – starring Rosamunds Pikes and Bens Afflecks

Untitled-1

Viewed tonight at 7 p.m.

1 day gone.

Okay, so, spoilers or whatever. I’m not going to go into details, because you can watch it for yourself to determine how much you like or dislike a thing; in this instance that thing is a movie directed by the man who has maintained my admiration since Fights Clubs, David Fincher.

Now, of course I sound like a year one film major. “Oh yeah, Fincher, I know his works, blah blah blah…” Fuck all that, I just really like the way the guy sees the world and middle finger to the purists who like the original Girl with The Dragon Tattoo over his delightfully cold version and the score? Reznor and Atticus Ross fucking killed it.

I like both actresses who played Lisbeth and that’s the end of that. If I hear one more know it all asshole who compares the film with the book I’m going to just leave my hand torn toenails on the toilet seat. Nothing murderous, just mean-spirited.

Not unlike Gone Girl… until one finds a box cutter I suppose.

I don’t like or dislike this movie. It has awesome scenes, but awesome in the way it’s shown not in the context of the whole story. Movies like this, also like Zodiac always suggest a much more sinister foreboding than what is actually happening.

I’m not discounting the murders, just that life is kinda, well, fucking boring.

I may sound like I’m trying to convey a point that has no relevance or truth, but after I walked out of Gone Girl it seemed like even with all the twists and sleight of hand the ending was somewhat predictive and could only end one way. I only say this because the movie itself is housed in our reality. Zodiac could never show Zodiac; oh Fincher did, at the lake scene, but even we, the audience, couldn’t assume that the guy dressed up was the actual Zodiac killer and that in itself was one of the most horrific and disquieting scenes… meaning good, which is odd to say.

Now with Gone Girl there’s all this suggestion, I know it’s not a real event, but it borrows heavily on modern social moires so it’s attempting to be “real” for the most part and with that it carries restrictions.

I thought of Revolutionary Road when I was driving home. A couple early in love have much in common, but time changes people and who you were fades and the marriage becomes a farce. Gone Girl has that aspect, the story shifts based on whose perspective we’re angled and that bothers me for some reason.

For Gone Girl, it simply tells you straight lies about the husband and wife, I truly left the picture-show with a sense of not knowing either of the people I’d spent three hours watching. Granted, that is part of the genius at work, to generate bias. I hated the wife, I was sentimental with the wife, then I hated the husband then I just fucking hated them both and I don’t know if that was the intention.

The most redeeming mother fucker in the movie is the lawyer.

…scratch that, I couldn’t wait to get back to the scenes with the twin sister played with aplomb, sincerity by Carrie Coon.

I want to see more of her. Now. I mean her acting.

I hate to say this too, but Rosamund Pike, I like her, but I personally liked her in Jack Reacher more than this movie. She has range, and this showed it, she can look plain, but then dazzling all in a couple frame backs and cutaways so I want to see more of her because she’s vicious and crazy and I did enjoy watching her.

A big plus for me in the movie was the Girl Runner for Cy’s place in DeadWood, Kim Dickens, she plays the detective assigned to the case and I love this woman’s style. She needs to get cast into a Coen brothers movie, if they could do what they a did for Frances McDormand *cough* Blood Simple *cough* Fargo she might be my top salt of the earth woman until Emma Stone turns into current Kathleen Turner.

As for Afflack, he’s grown as an actor. I want to knock him, but he has some good lines and he plays this role really well; kinda dumb, but not stupid, just an ass and naive about truth … much like his rant about racism on Mahr. All religions are fucked Bro, I don’t discriminate, I hate them all equally.

Tangent into real town, let’s get back to the tinsel.

So Gone Girl.

Driving home I really wanted to love it, but ultimately fell to the Meh side about it. The gist of the movie is that you never marry the person you think you’re marrying and that marriage fucking sucks and there’s two sides to every story, but her side is that she’s fucking insane and all Affleck wanted to do was play BF3.

I can relate to that.

I like movies…

and you do to.

P:

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment